System Users : 2 common mistakes HFU staff want to avoid while modifying their profile

POSTED BY Hortense Regnaut | 26 April 2021 | GMS Quick Tip

 

Introduction 

The System Users module allows HFU staff to manage the profile’s details of the GMS users. As HFU staff, it is possible, through the System Users tab, to create several profiles for one user, and one Humanitarian ID credential.

The HFU can for instance, create under its individual user account a ‘Agency Partner’ profile, in addition to their primary HFU profile. This new ‘Partner’ profile can be very useful to help an implementing partner in different scenarios of the GMS.

However, there are two major pitfalls to avoid while modifying a user’s profile, whether your own or someone else’s. These two very common errors are described below, along with how to solve the issue.

Please note, this blog post is not a full guidance on how to manage system users. To learn more about how to manage profiles, how to approve user registrations etc. please refer to this Help Portal article.

 

1st mistake: ‘Wanting to add a new profile but modifying your own primary HFU user role instead’ 

How could users make this mistake?

This mistake happens (i)when a user wishes to create a new access, e.g. as an Agency/Partner, but they do not click on [click here to create a new profile], OR (ii)when they wish to edit one of their existing user role profiles, but do not search for it in the Pooled Funds section and do not click on [edit].

Hence, they edit the information automatically displayed in the System Users- User details tab, which is their PRIMARY HFU profile, they change the 'HFU' to another user group in the drop-down list, and click on [save profile].

Why is it an issue?

If you modify your primary profile, e.g. because you wanted to create an ‘Agency/Partner’ access, without first clicking on [click here to add new profile], you will be automatically logged out of GMS, with no possibility of logging back in as an HFU user role.

How to avoid making this mistake?

As a general rule, DO NOT EVER CHANGE YOUR PRIMARY PROFILE. Your primary profile is the one that is automatically displayed when you log in the GMS and access the System Users – User Details tab. If you wish to create/edit another user role access to your profile, please refer to this guidance below

What should I do if this happened to me?

If you have been kicked out of GMS and find yourself unable to log in as your original primary profile after editing it, you need to request a member of your HFU to reinstate your HFU access, or contact GMS Support at this address : gms-support@un.org.

2nd mistake : ‘Wanting to delete a user role profile (e.g. Agency/Partner access) but actually ending up deactivating/unapproving the whole access to GMS’ 

How could users make this mistake?

This mistake happens when a user wishes to delete one of their profile user role, for instance Cluster Leads, and to do so, they untick the ‘Is Active’ or ‘Approve’ checkbox of the said profile and click on [Save].

Why is it an issue?

It is a mistake as the ‘Approve’ / ‘is Active’ checkboxes are linked to your USER DETAILS, not the specific profile. Hence, if you deactivate your user details thinking it would delete the specific profile, the GMS will log you out, with no possibility of logging in again, as it will consider that your whole account is no longer active/approved.

How to avoid making this mistake?

IT IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HFU USERS TO DELETE A PROFILE ONCE IT HAS BEEN CREATED. Only GMS Admin can do this. If you wish to delete one of your profile’s user roles, please contact GMS Support at this address: gms-support@un.org

What should I do if this happened to me?

If you have been kicked out of GMS and find yourself unable to log in after deactivating/unapproving your GMS access, you need to request a member of your HFU to re-activate/approve your account, or contact GMS Support at this address : gms-support@un.org.